Skip to main content


LAFCo Commissioners sit as independent decision-makers and are required by law to exercise their independent judgment on behalf of the general public within Mendocino County. Commissioners exercise their responsibilities to consider their decisions within a regional or county-wide perspective without regard to a specific interest group or government agency. 

Mendocino LAFCo is composed of seven regular Commissioners;

  • two county supervisors appointed by the Board of Supervisors;
  • two city council representatives selected by the City Selection Committee within Mendocino County;
  • two special district respresentatives elected by the independent special districts of Mendocino County; and
  • one public member selected by the other members of the Commission.

For each category of members represented (county, city, special district, and public) there is one alternate. Alternate members may attend LAFCo meetings but only vote on items when a regular member from their category is absent.

Each Commission member serves a four-year term. Mendocino LAFCo Commissioners receive a stipend of $50 to attend regular meetings of the Commission (Mendocino LAFCo Policy 3.7).

Note that Special District Member elections are currently in process.

CommissionerMember RepresentationTerm Expiration (December 31)
Glenn McGourtyCounty2024
Maureen Mulheren, ChairCounty2022
Mari RodinCity (Ukiah)2025
Gerardo GonzalezCity (Willits)2026
Candace HorsleySpecial Districts 2026
VacantSpecial Districts 2024
Gerald Ward, Vice-Chair/TreasurerPublic2026
John HaschakAlternate, County2023
Douglas CraneAlternate, City (Ukiah)2025
Francois ChristenAlternate, Special District2026
Richard WeinkleAlternate, Public 2023